Skip to Content

DART – Let's Go.

DART News Release

Media Relations Contact:
Morgan Lyons

December 12, 2002

DART Supports Clean Air Initiatives

First Annual Clean Air Recognition of Employers Awards

DART, the North Texas Clean Air Coalition and the Greater Dallas Chamber of Commerce recognized local employers for doing their share for cleaner air in the North Texas region, at the first annual Clean Air Recognition of Employers (CARE) awards luncheon.

The 25 recognized employers take part in clean air initiatives such as making bus and rail passes available to their employees, implementing vanpool and carpool programs, and setting up parking management and work schedule programs.

"More than 300,000 people use DART every day," says Gary Thomas DART president/executive director. "Partnerships and programs that encourage the use of public transportation contribute to a better quality of life for the entire North Texas region."

Voluntary efforts by area employers to reduce employee trips decrease the number of private single-occupancy vehicles on the roads, lessening ground-level ozone. More than 50 percent of ozone is created by gasoline-powered engine emissions, such as those from cars and trucks.

CARE 2002 Award Recipients

Platinum Awards
U.S. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Gold Level Certificates
U.S. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
City of Richardson
Raytheon Company - McKinney, Texas
U.S. Internal Revenue Service
Greyhound Lines, Inc.

Silver Level Certificates
Corner Bakery #94
UT Southwestern Medical Center
Fireman's Fund Insurance Company
Defense Contract Management Agency
Department of Aviation, City of Dallas
Blockbuster, Inc.
Neiman Marcus
Dallas County Community College District
Dallas Business Journal
Great West-National Accounts
The Boeing Company - Corinth, Texas
American Red Cross
Lazo Technologies Ltd.
Hunt Oil Company
Mary Kay, Inc.

Vanpool Captain Certificates
Patricia Beard
Don Rezmerski
Sherry Pelzel
Ken Williams
Doreen Honza
Nancy Price
Carie Haley
Virginia Howard

Employee Transportation Coordinator of the Year
Bob Turner, UT Southwestern Medical Center

Outstanding Employee Transportation Coordinators
Kathleen Rueth, Healthcare Company
Alan Larson, Raytheon Company - McKinney, Texas
Donna Giguere, Great-West National Accounts
Bob Turner, UT Southwestern Medical Center
Kimberly Farwell, City of Richardson

-- 30 --

Back to Top